Brian Tamaki – Life of Brian documentary

7 07 2008

Family man or gay basher? Charmer or manipulator? Man of God or extreme fundamentalist? You be the judge with this behind-the-pulpit look at Bishop Brian Tamaki in Inside New Zealand: The Life of Brian, screening Thursday, July 17th at 9:30pm on TV3.

Filmed over seven months, producer and presenter Ross Jennings negotiates a probing, honest and open look into Tamaki’s private and professional lives. We go inside the head of the Destiny Church’s home, inside his boat, inside his church and yes, even inside his flashy wardrobe.

Jennings puts the tough questions to the controversial Tamaki, and speaks to his disgruntled former finance officer. It is true that members are asked to sign a contract that tells them that by holding back their tithe they are robbing God?

Jennings also asks, how does he pay for his lifestyle? With public showings of parties and lavish vacations, were these paid for by Tamaki personally, or by the church? And is it true that the large donations of “first fruit” that Destiny Church-goers are encouraged to make go directly to Brian?

We will look at the non-financial controversies of Bishop Brian as well. Tamaki has long been outspoken on his views on homosexuality, yet he claims to believe that his is “the most tolerant religion on Earth.” But what would he do if one of his grandchildren were to become gay? Would he reject him or her?

Plus, what are Tamaki’s political aspirations? Does he really believe he can be Prime Minister? And what laws would he change if he were to get into power?

All of these questions are put to the man when Inside New Zealand: The Life of Brian screens on Thursday, July 17th at 9:30pm on TV3.

Actions

Information

16 responses

9 07 2008
Bex

17th of July is a saturday not a thursday….. When is it on?!

9 07 2008
Bex

my bad, on another planet!

17 07 2008
Margaret Trawick

Just saw it. Absolutely amazing! Congratulations, you people who made this documentary.

17 07 2008
Margaret Trawick

p.s. Tamaki did a good job, too, under so much pressure. You’ve gotta see this guy.

18 07 2008
Dick Gazinya

As a man of God myself and also an entrepreneur, my bullsh*t detector goes off a bit with this guy. I think he’s more self-agrandizing and self-promoting than anything else, which is not a bad thing per se. But it’s explosive when mixed with religion. The emperor wears no clothes (or at least expensive ones in his case), but no one has the audacity to call him out on it. Would be interesting to get cameras on him behind closed doors when he’s acting upon his own freewill and not acting for the camera.

18 07 2008
Hayley

Warning bells went off when I watched this. It’s one thing to dress well and to have a car and a nice home – but to have a mansion, a flashy car and a boat (not your household tinny either!) and a love affair with a Harley is another story. I don’t think Jesus ever taught the apostles a “gospel of materialistic prosperity” but one of humility and sacrifice.
The other thing I noticed about Tamaki was when he was caught out in the beginnings of a lie by his own wife. It would have been far better for him to come out and say ‘oh yes, that’s right, i remember that night when I got pulled over for racing the cops…’ Instead it fell to his wife, who was quite honest, and said ‘Oh you remember that night when you were racing and got caught’. All Tamaki could say was ‘You’ll have to remind me, I don’t remember…etc’ Blatant lie and he was caught…
The documentary was very, very good…but not good for Tamaki. I’m glad I saw it, it confirms my suspicions about the man.

19 07 2008
Tia

Just because he has nice stuff you think he’s not a good Christian? Did you know his Church gifted him that Harley. It’s their choice to give him one. I don’t think you’d turn down a Harley if you were given one. Anyway, you think Jesus taught his people to have wear raggy clothes and live in a cardboard box? No. He taught them that they shall be prosperous which includes material prosperity.
And ok. He has a past. Doesn’t everyone? He wasn’t exactly born a goodie-two shoes… but not many people are. Maybe he wasn’t proud of it either. Would you be? Maybe he actually forgot about it and needed to be reminded. Just because he has a few flaws you wanna hate on him like he’s Hitler?
Bishop Brian is just trying to make a difference in this country and trying to help people which I think is awesome. He just wants to right the wrongs that this country has made. Some of the laws this country passes are stupid anyway and he wants to change it. Doesn’t everyone? If you had the chance to try and change or make a law then wouldn’t you? He has his point of view and so does everyone else, it’s just he chooses to broadcast them to the country. Don’t hate on him just cause he has an opinion

22 07 2008
Richard

Big up’s for Brian leading the way for christianity in NZ. We need some one to tackle this tall poppy syndrome we have in NZ and it is about time some stands up for the truth surely there is nothing wrong with that. So often we look at the negative aspects of life which is in our nature; and it is too easy to critise and point out the wrong’s in people that are willing
There are many camera angles on Brians life like, mariage, family, friends, church, community, business. But we tend to look at the business life and point the finger at his meterial posisions which is too easy to critisize because we are driven by a powerfull force, which is money. Dont give Brian a hard time about the homosexuality he interacts with them more times than the average person. I was once against gays, until I became a christian, and finding my self serving and ministering to them, in fact the church is doing more good for the gay comunity. The media has ways of misinterpriting messages to suit the general puplic. Do not be foolish and believe everything you see and read on paper, TV and radio, it’s a clever parlor trick all done for show.

22 07 2008
monica macrae

Hi I missed this doco and was wondering where I could see it?does anybody know?

25 07 2008
Gina

Oh ok, so just because he’s a christian he should live like a poor man? there’s no sin in having posessions — I know a number of christians who are millionaires but are called in a different ministry — Brian’s however is called to be in the spotlight for a purpose. How about you turn your attention away from Brian who’s focussing on leading his church and focus your so called warnnig bells or bullsh*t detector towards our politicians leading this country like uhhh.. Winston Peters… supposedly had imbezzled funds for his own personal use, or Taito Fields being charged with Fraud — Housing NZ going on a number of extravagant training projects at 5 star resorts using tax payers money and the list goes on– these people you voted into parliament — so… take a look at yourselves and what you can try to do to change this country instead of judging and pointing finger — at least Brian has the balls to… and I’m no fan of Destiny either but I give respect to where respect is due.

27 07 2008
Susan

Well Brian does have some good things to say but Im afraid many of the population are put off by his extremely extravagant lifestyle including my children who are in their 20s.
I agree with Hayley there. I see his followers as stupid contributing to this lifestyle. If they want to hear The
Word thats wonderful but find a better cause to give your money to. Im a christian with no flooring a house that floods a rundown property and practically no heating .. Id like to see Brian endure what I have.
I know the secret that to give is to receive who does he give money to. I didnt see the documentary but heard about it.
If your Maori you can squeak for anything and get it in New Zealand stuff the whites. There are some of us out there doing our best to survive so its sickening to see the guy living this extremely lavish lifestyle. He’d be more convincing to many if he gave it all up and had a modest 3 bedroom home and no major luxuries. Yes we have a computer we have to have entertainment we cant afford meals out. Brian speaks the Word of God but his lifestyle doesnt support it Im afraid. My kids watched it and said “”what a crock” as Im sure many people did. Not
moaning just saying that Brian needs a dose of reality
and his financial church supporters need a dose of sense.

27 07 2008
Susan

and bollocks to Gina I dont think youd find many
committed christians in the millionaire group Im afraid
if they were they wouldnt be millionaires theyd have
given it all away except what was basically necessary to have a modest lifestyle!!!

7 08 2008
Richard

Brian Tamaki is a great Maori leader, and I have no doubt began his christian ministry walking with God.
I am not sure that God would condone his having such an extravagant lifestyle however.
I have Destiny church friends who say that men of the bible were rich.. ‘Abraham, Jacob,and Job etc…. whats so bad about that, they say !
My answer is that none these got rich off of church tithings.

One thing Maoris don’t need is a leader that falls, and I for one believe this will happen.

What right does any christian have to lead this kind of extravagant lifestyle when there is so much starvation and poverty in our world.

29 10 2008
Ex destiny follower

O my god!!! I don’t believe these people on here.Gifted a Harley???they got sucked in to buying him that.That guy lives off the the money those brain washed followers give. Are they blind or what?!!!! I sat in his church once and all I saw were all these people swaying and singing like he was god hellOoooooooooo..he’s not the big G.O.D.I couldn’t wait to get out of there, so glad I go to a normal church now… And he is not a good Maori leader..He is now copying a cult in America with ideas of his own town.I know of some people who got the hell out cos he wanted more money from them That’s just crazy .And his wife telling the followers on his doco that she likes the sound the coins but likes the sound of paper money better..For goodness sake what is wrong with those people.?The Tamaki’s are getting rich from the followers and they don’t even see it.Only God will say who goes where.

6 11 2008
Ex destiny follower

It wont be long before another starts a cult up just like Tamaki he is a disgrace to the Maori race living off brain washed people along with his now BLOND!!!! wife .Jingers lady get rid of the blond it looks bloody hilarious ..

23 11 2008
Average Student

I’ve watched a fair few documentaries and episodes, as well as followed the news about Destiny Church. While I can’t say I’m a expert on these matters, I think it’s fairly clear what, exactly, is needed.

What is needed is, even just a few people, who are completely willing to stand up for what they believe in, aren’t willing to back down, but who won’t react with violence. For instance, during the ‘Enough is Enough’ Destiny Church rally, many of the Counter-Protesters ran away in tears! I know it’s hard, when people are trying to demean you, but eventually we all have to stand up for what we believe in. In the end, only God can tell us who is right, and who is wrong. I believe in God, but I don’t believe in any Scripture what so ever, I’m simply of the belief that God gave us Free Will, and that I’ll learn about him when I meet him, not from a Book or from another Man.

I stand up for what I believe in, and I believe in Compromise and Tolerance, balanced with Honesty and Integrity, Morals and Ethics.

So, if there ever is another ‘Enough is Enough’ in the capital, I plan to be wearing a WHITE shirt, with the letters ‘Enough is Enough’ printed in bold, black writing on the front, standing in the way of the Destiny Church march. I expect I may get hurt, fantatics and bullies often resort to violence to force others to agree with their views, or to just plain get out of their way, but I won’t move, and I won’t be cowed.

I simply hope for two things, One: That other’s with stand with me. And Two: That I may get the priviledge to talk to Brian Tamaki face-to-face, and explain to him just why he’s mentally, emotionally, and fashion-wise defective (Some of the things he dress’s in actually make him look gay, which I’ve been told by some gay & lesbian people I know, and other’s simply make him look like a dork)

Oh, PS – I’ve been reading quite a few Destiny Chuch Supporters comments on a varied selection of websites, and I have to say –

Learn how to f***ing spell and gain some correct grammar please, the way you write out your comments, your atrocious spelling and grammar not only make your ignorance apparent, but are also aggravating to read.

Thanks.

Average Student.

Leave a Reply

